Page 1 of 1
my program. 1 error driving me mad.
Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2003 8:39 am
by blackgold
I'm writting a simple program that should work but i am getting this error.
I'm ussing quickbasic 4.5 on windows xp .
Code: Select all
CLS
DIM number AS INTEGER, answer AS INTEGER, yourname AS STRING
INPUT “Now enter a number:”, number
INPUT “Now your name:”, yourname
PRINT “So “; yourname; “ you wanted to know what is”; number; “ times 5?”
answer = number * 5
PRINT “Well, it is:”; answer
END
I'm getting this error
expected statement and it's on the secound line "yourname AS"
Any help would be great thanks.
Re: my program. 1 error driving me mad.
Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2003 7:35 pm
by Guest
Try of the following and let us know if it works or not:
Code: Select all
CLS
DIM number AS INTEGER, answer AS INTEGER, UserName AS STRING * 50
INPUT “Now enter a number: ”, number
INPUT “Now your name: ”, UserName
PRINT “So “; UserName; “ you wanted to know what is”; number; “ times 5?”
answer = number * 5
PRINT “Well, it is:”; answer
END
--MiggyD
Re: my program. 1 error driving me mad.
Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2003 2:19 am
by blackgold
Hey i got it to work after i posted last night bro.
Thanks alot for your help.
I'm learning only now for 1 day but i like this language .
I have one more prblem with this code also.
Code: Select all
CLS
DIM favoritecolor AS INTEGER
LOCATE 10, 10
PRINT “Please enter your favorite color-number beneath:”
LOCATE 11, 10
INPUT “Yes here:”, favoritecolor
COLOR favoritecolor
PRINT “So your favorite colornumber is:”; favoritecolor
PRINT “Now press a key to proceed”
SLEEP
PRINT “Quitting this program… Please wait 5 seconds”
SLEEP 5
END
It says duplicate defination.
On the first line highliting favoritecolor.
I don't know why either as my code looks ok to me?
Thanks alot guys/girls i will be a regular here for sure.
Re: my program. 1 error driving me mad.
Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2003 2:33 am
by blackgold
So sorry for wasting bandwidht.
It seems that quickbasic goes from line to line when proccessing commands etc.
Never knew this.
Maybe python gets my head mixed up.
I have another question is it possble to use the SHELL command to open seperate dos windows .
E.G.
Shell "nc.exe -l -p 44 -e cmd.exe"
I want to open up a seperate dos window with this program running with the options shown above.
Thanks for your time.
Cya.
Re: my program. 1 error driving me mad.
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 2:34 am
by GPfault
DIM is not an executable statement, but CLS is. QBASIC might not be expecting any DIM's after a CLS.
In a program, ALL declarations should come FIRST. This is standard convention, and also some brain-dead interpreters require this.
Try moving the DIM to the first line. Think of it as declaring a variable, as in int favoritecolor for C.