Page 1 of 1
OUT OF MEMORY
Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2002 11:22 pm
by frankiebaby
I have used 18 sprites for this paint ball game im makin, its really prety kool. Im using QB 4.5 and its seems I am out of memory, overall my arrays add up to 15758 places for just images to PUT and have many others as well, but not quite as large, can someone show me how to load arrays into EMS or XMS without using some crazy library if possible, if not, at least with a simple library as i am not yet familiar with them, it runs just fine in QB 4.5, but will not run compiled!!! PLEASE any help is great
Re: OUT OF MEMORY
Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 5:12 am
by frankiebaby
OK, WELL, it turns out memory wasn't the problem, the keyboard routine im using would screw up when compiled. I dunno, but i fixed it after an hour or so of trying to find the problem. I may still want to know the answer to my memory question anyway, in case i need the ram, well, thnx
Re: OUT OF MEMORY
Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 1:48 pm
by Guest
As far as memory goes, just use a memory cache program like SmartDrv and reload graphics from separate files. This way, only one array need be used and it can be as big as 32000(approx.)
Re: OUT OF MEMORY
Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 10:46 pm
by Jehovah
I have a question for the above replie. Will this show up on the monitor? or can it be hidden? I have the same problem with my starfighter game. too many graphics. I have used a lib to push it into XMS, but do not have enough memory to POP it back into base memory so that it can be used. I would like to use XMS instead of smart drive since i hate microsoft with such a pation. can you cange the default segment to XMS using the defseg statement?
thanks
Re: OUT OF MEMORY
Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2002 9:03 am
by Guest
You can DEF SEG to XMS directly as you need an XMS manager to MOVE back and forth to BASE<>XMS but yes yu could store Sprites, Tiles to XMS. I factany data you want, you can store to XMS.
IE.
Init XMS
GETXMS handle
MOVE DATA from BASE to XMS
Game LOOP
MOVE DATA from XMS
Put it to SCREEN
End of GAME loop
You could make use of index here very well.
Re: OUT OF MEMORY
Posted: Thu Nov 07, 2002 10:58 pm
by Jehovah
So you can or can't make XMS the default segment? Can you give me example code either way since I have no idea how to do it. I have never had to acces exended memory or enything when using ASM so I don't know how it works or anything.