The Obsolescence of QuickBasic

Please use this Board for QBasic related requests ( file research, programming, etc.)

Moderators:Administrator, Global Moderator

Post by Guest » Wed Nov 20, 2002 9:18 pm

I'm a computer programmer by trade having been in the consulting business for over ten years. While I'm currently speaking a smattering of mainframe and client/server languages (Cobol, Assembler, ezt, PHP, SqlServer, UNIX Scripting, etc), my heart harkens back to the old QuickBasic language of yesteryear. When I first began dabbling into computers, I learned Basic. By the time I obtained my first copy of QuickBasic 4.5 (mid-90's), this development language was already in decline (from a business perspective).

However, I still loved this simple and quirky little language. I would write simple games for my toddler daughter and work on my epic RPG game. I had originally written this simple NetHack-like RPG game in the early 1990's. It employed all the basic ingredients of Adventure and I worked on various versions of this game for years but never releasing it to the public via Freeware. At one point, I ported and redesigned the game on Visual Basic. While VB has many advanced features and far mor functionality that QB, I found specific aspects of the Windows-development framework quite limiting.

For instance, in QB, I could display a simple multi-colored text line on row one (1) of the screen.

LOCATE 1,2: COLOR 4: PRINT "You are in the Kingdom of ";: COLOR 14: PRINT "Sumeria!"